reklama

Getting to Lagos

This week I spent some time in Lagos. First thing is, though, you have to GET to Lagos. Let me explain: you fly, Chanchangi Airlines.

Písmo: A- | A+
Diskusia  (6)
Obrázok blogu

If the name isn’t suggestive enough, the details are. Where do I start:–the security? (you beep, you go, no worries) –the gate area? (what gate area?, just walk out on the tarmac when you get called, find your plane and walk those stairs up yourself! Try not to get deaf in the process, the engines are running.) –the plane itself? (a 727, which is nice, not a prop for all I care, but the signs are in Spanish – get my drift – it was probably bought used from Latin America….after how many years of service and maintenance? - what maintenance?) –the food? (day old donuts wrapped in plastic…..) which I always eat just so that I wouldn’t chew on my fingernails…..One nice thing though, the pilots are European. The company is part owned by a Serbian corporation, or so I’ve heard (it’s comforting, so I believe it). You have no idea how handsome and capable a middle-aged Serbian pilot looks when you are 26,000 feet in the air! It’s the longest 55 minute flight I’ve ever taken.Needless to say, we do not fly approximately 75% of the local carriers (UN doesn’t fly any, they charter planes….). We do not fly in the afternoon during rainy season (…tried landing in the middle of a tropical thunderstorm??)Yes, and we don’t drive (long distances across country) because of road blocks (and paying bribes associated with running into them) and the risk of armed robbery. (Although our instructions are pretty clear – give the car, save your life. Not quite sure what I would do in the middle of the bush without a car!) Last Wednesday, their Lagos-bound plane crashed at the airport. The front wheel “refused” to open, according to local newspapers. Noone hurt, but man, this is scary.

Lenka Beňová

Lenka Beňová

Bloger 
  • Počet článkov:  10
  •  | 
  • Páči sa:  0x

Som človek s nenásytnou chuťou byť a byť tam, kde som ešte nebola. Zoznam autorových rubrík:  SúkromnéNezaradené

Prémioví blogeri

Iveta Rall

Iveta Rall

86 článkov
Zmudri.sk

Zmudri.sk

3 články
Martina Hilbertová

Martina Hilbertová

49 článkov
Lucia Šicková

Lucia Šicková

4 články
Adam Valček

Adam Valček

14 článkov
reklama
reklama
SkryťZatvoriť reklamu