reklama

What do you say to that?

(Nigerian phone etiquette)

Písmo: A- | A+
Diskusia  (11)
Phone hookups in a Lagos shopping mall.
Phone hookups in a Lagos shopping mall. (zdroj: LB)

1.I am trying to buy a plane ticket for someone for a lot of money - close to one thousand euro. I call the travel agent, named Bumi. Yes, I kid you not. Bumi is not available; she is "at the toilet". Great, I say, can I call her back? Yes, call in about 10 minutes.Now, I need this ticket badly, because the person I am getting it for wants to go to Cairo and is, as a matter of fact, already on a plane to get to Lagos - where this flight leaves from. I call back in 6 minutes and ask for Bumi. The response is: "You called before, right? Didn't I tell you to call back in ten minutes???" Hang up.It’s really hot here. If you get too angry you are running a serious risk of a heart attack.2. Recently, a man and a woman have called me, both on the same day, obviously trying to reach someone else. Here is the conversation transcript.Man (M):L: Hello?M: Hello?L: Hello? (this is a Nigerian practice, it can last very long for either party to say anything else except for Hello?)M: Hello?L (amused): Hello, how can I help you?M: Yes, I want to speak with ……!L: I am sorry, who?M: …..L: I am sorry, Sir, I don’t understand the name of the person, are you sure you are calling the right number?M(annoyed): I want to speak with the owner of this phone!L: Well, I am the owner of this phone.M: That’s not true.L: at this point, I am annoyed, because I had to pull up to the side of the road to pick up the phone (driving and talking not allowed here). So I hung up on him after a brief sentence about who I believe knows better about the owner of my phone.Woman (W):L: Hello?W: Hello?L: Hello?W: Who’s talking?L: I am sorry, but you called me. Can I ask who is on the line?W(angry): I don’t want to talk to you!L(yelling): THEN DON’T CALL ME! (I hung up on her).

Lenka Beňová

Lenka Beňová

Bloger 
  • Počet článkov:  10
  •  | 
  • Páči sa:  0x

Som človek s nenásytnou chuťou byť a byť tam, kde som ešte nebola. Zoznam autorových rubrík:  SúkromnéNezaradené

Prémioví blogeri

Post Bellum SK

Post Bellum SK

74 článkov
Jiří Ščobák

Jiří Ščobák

752 článkov
Zmudri.sk

Zmudri.sk

3 články
Monika Nagyova

Monika Nagyova

295 článkov
reklama
reklama
SkryťZatvoriť reklamu